Home » College Access, Admissions & Affordability » Learning from another person’s mistakes

Learning from another person’s mistakes

Twitter Updates

Learning from another person’s mistakes

     As many graduates are looking for apartments, leasing cars, upgrading their cell phones, and  buying new clothes, I hope they are considering their loan repayment amount. Last night I had dinner with a dear friend who told me about one of his co-workers who still owes $100K 10 years post graduation. He makes the minimum payment each month, because he claims he cannot afford to may more. This co-worker drives a new BMW, goes out every weekend to great dinners and shows, hangs out at top-shelf clubs and bars, takes women on expensive dates and is considering returning to college for a MBA at a $60K price tag. This guy has not saved and plans to borrow for his MBA for the purpose getting ahead professionally and earning more money.  Sadly, I think he wants to earn more money to live a more extravagent life. When does he come to terms with his financially reality? 

     I think this article gives the reader some ways to consider living with debt repayment in a responsible way. While I don’t want anyone to make mistakes – especially, mistakes that can have a lifetime penalty and mistakes that cost taxpayers, I do think this article provides an opportunity to learn from someone’s mistakes. I encourage parents to read this article for a conversation starter. 

